What's New In New York State!

Andrea Brachfeld Jazz Quartet

Queens , New York City | Entertainment

Andrea Brachfeld Jazz Quartet

This is the last of the series of premieres for the work , “If Not Now, When? “ which was composed by Andrea Brachfeld and Bill O'Connell, pianist extraordinaire. Andrea received the New Jazz Works Grant from Chamber Music America and the Doris Duke Foundation in June of 2017. The work is comprised of nine compositions which includes the piece Amazing Grace. Receiving rave reviews from critics, this exciting and cohesive quartet also includes Harvie S on the bass and Mike Clark on the drums.

This concert, the last premiere for the work, “If Not Now, When? composed by Andrea Brachfeld and Bill O’ Connell, is made possible through Chamber Music America and the Doris Duke Foundation. Andrea received the New Works Jazz grant in June of 2017. The work is comprised of nine compositions. The quartet includes Bill O’ Connell on the piano, (Sonny Rollins, Gato Barbieri) Harvie S on the bass, (Dexter Gordon, Tony Bennett, Chick Corea ) and Mike Clark on the drums. (Benny Golson, Slide Hampton, George Coleman) The work has received rave reviews from the critics.

Andrea Brachfeld is a name evoked in the realms of both jazz and Latin jazz with a certain regard. The award-winning flutist, composer, bandleader, and educator has released her 8th album, If Not Now, When ? to critical acclaim. Brachfeld who has been named Best Flutist by Hot House Magazine (2015 and is the recipient of Latin Jazz USA’s Chico O’Farrill Lifetime Achievement Award. She believes in the transformative power of music and says, “It’s all about your voice, your journey and the inner work you do in finding your voice, on a spiritual and personal level. It’s about finding out who we are and translating it into the music.”

Flushing Town Hall is a not for profit organization which receives major support from the National Endowment for the Arts; New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature; New York State Assembly Member Ron Kim; New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, Mayor Bill de Blasio; Queens Borough President Melinda Katz; Council Members Adrienne Adams, Costa Constantinides, Daniel Dromm, Barry Grodenchik, Peter Koo, Karen Koslowitz, Francisco Moya, and Paul A. Vallone; and the Howard Gilman Foundation, the Fan Fox and Leslie R. Samuels Foundation, and the Lily Auchincloss Foundation.


Event Details

    Oct. 12, 2018 - Oct. 12, 2018
    08:00 PM - 08:00 PM